Birthdays

I didn’t post last Monday because it was my 27th birthday. And I wanted to take a break from my “story” to write about birthdays.

I got sober about a month before my 25th birthday. I have had 3 sober birthdays in a row! That might sound strange to some.. But it’s so special to me.

Between the ages of 17 and 24 I was only clean and sober for 2 birthdays. And the reason for that was I was pregnant. And that was the ONLY reason I was sober. All of my other birthdays I was either drunk, high, or both. And that breaks my heart. I was so selfish! But that’s all in the past!

My 25th birthday was special because it was my first birthday after deciding I needed to change my life. I spent the day with my mom and my 2 boys. We went to the mall to take pictures. I wanted a good picture with my boys to take with me when I went to rehab. It turned out so cute and my mom and DJ ended up putting the picture into a locket for me.

After spending the day with my babies we had a really nice dinner followed by cake! And my boys gave me balloons and flowers. Melted my heart.

IMG_3446.JPG

IMG_3447.JPG

My 26th birthday was special because my boyfriend (now husband) and I had been living in Reno for 6ish months and I wasn’t sure if I was going to celebrate my birthday because we had just moved into our own place and after all our bills were paid we had very little money to spend. However, my mom and dad brought the boys up on the weekend either before or after my bday to celebrate. My mom pre made my favorite dinner and cooked it at our place for me. We ate cake and ice cream and then we got to keep the boys for a couple nights while my parents stayed in a hotel. It was soo incredibly special and a birthday I will not forget.

IMG_3488-1.JPG

IMG_3489-1.JPG

This year I turned 27. My birthday was a very chill relaxing day with my daughter. My husband had to work so once he got home he cooked me dinner and we watched a movie together. This last weekend my parents brought the boys up to Reno for the weekend. They got here later Friday night so I fed the boys and we watched the Lego movie..all 5 of us! Saturday was a ton of fun! We got up, had breakfast while watching Turbo, Aidan’s all time favorite movie. In the afternoon my mom picked up me and Isabelle and took us over to the hotel my parents were staying at bc they got a suite. The boys stayed back with Andy and after my mom, the baby and I got to their room, my dad took off to pick the three of them up (because the car we use was is still in sac) once everyone was at my parents room we ate lunch and then the boys wanted to go to the pool to swim. Thankfully it was an indoor pool bc here in Reno it’s pretty dang cold out this time of year. Andy and the kids had a fun time in the pool, even Isabelle was in on the action. After swimming we had cake. Love listening to my little Aidan sing happy birthday like a pro, it’s the cutest thing. Damian and Aidan helped me blow my candles out and then it was time to get ready for the surprise we had for them. Saturday night my husband and I took the kids to a tree lighting, Santa, live singing, and a HUGE firework show!! The. Boys had a blast and that was the best birthday present ever!! I love seeing them happy and having fun!

IMG_3499.JPG

I’m so thankful for these past 3 birthdays because I can remember them. Almost all of the other birthdays I have had, starting at 17, I can’t remember. I just will not take this for granted and I will NEVER spend another birthday in a haze. I love my life sober and I can’t wait to spend the rest of my birthdays not only physically present, but mentally and emotionally present also!

Lots of love,
Sarah

2 comments

  1. iceman18 · November 25, 2014

    Every child deserves a sober parent. And you have three amazing gifts to love, cherish and cheer for. Wow!

    Like

    • sarahneuner · November 25, 2014

      Yes! I agree! It took me a couple years to realize I actually wasn’t putting them first. And when I did, I put myself into a rehab and now have 25 months sober!

      Like

Leave a comment